Kimberley is located at the heart of the Sol Plaatje Municipality. This diverse city is the capital of the Northern Cape Province and the epicentre of the Frances Baard District Municipality. It's history began some 150 years ago when a 83-carat diamond was discovered on Colesburg Kopje. The kopje (hill) soon became a "Big Hole", as excavators mined the earth in search of the precious stones. The town that sprung up as a result of the influx of people was aptly dubbed "New Rush", and was renamed Kimberley in 1873.

The prospecting rush lead to Kimberley becoming thee first large-scale industrialized city in Southern Africa. Kimberley became something of a pioneering town. It was the first town in the southern hemisphere to install electric street lights in 1882. It is home to South Africa's first stock exchange and tram transportation network and was a leader in aviation, establishing the first aviation school in the country in 1913. The Sol Plaatje Municipality also includes the following towns: Modder River, Richie, Riverton, Ronald's Vlei, Beaconsfield, Kenilworth and Spytfontein.